Nifty Vs Sensex: Know the Difference

Published : 15 May 2023

What is Nifty and Sensex? 

Nifty: The Nifty, National Stock Exchange Fifty, is the NSE's equity benchmark index. Its full form is National Fifty Sensex: The Sensex is the Bombay Stock Exchange's (BSE) market index. Its full form is the Sensitive Index.

Another name of Nifty & Sensex? 

Nifty: Another name for Nifty is Nifty 50 and S&P CNX Fifty. Sensex: Another name for Sensex is S&P BSE Sensex.

Who Owns Nifty and Sensex?

Nifty: Index and Services and Products Limited (IISL), an NSE subsidiary, owns and manages it. Sensex: The Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) owns it.

What is the Base number and Base period?

Nifty: Its base number is 1000 and the base period is 3rd November, 1995 Sensex:  Its base number is 100 and its base period is 1978-79

What is the Base Capital? 

Nifty: The base capital for Nifty is Rs.2.06 trillion Sensex: N/A

How many companies constitute Nifty and Sensex?

Nifty: The top 50 publicly traded companies on the NSE constitute Nifty 50. Sensex: Top 30 companies trading on the BSE constitutes Sensex.

How many sectors are covered?

Nifty: Nifty covers 24 sectors Sensex: Sensex covers 13 sectors.