BSE Holidays 2023

The BSE is a major stock in India, with over 6,000 listed businesses. The stock market is the first one ever formed in Asia, and in terms of market capitalisation, it is the third largest stock exchange in the world.

The BSE (formerly Bombay Stock Exchange) market is open for business every day of the week except Saturdays, Sundays, and any other holidays that the Exchange has predetermined. The BSE announced Trading Holidays for the Calendar Year 2023 on December 8, 2022. The Exchange has provided a schedule detailing the days that will be observed as Trading Holidays for the Equity Derivatives and SLB Segment. 

Please check below for the equities trading and stock market holiday schedule for the year 2023(BSE).

Sr. No National Holiday  Date 2023 Day
1 Republic Day January 26 Thursday
2 Holi March 07 Tuesday 
3 Ram Navami March 30 Thursday
4 Mahavir Jayanti April 04 Tuesday
5 Good Friday April 07 Friday
6 Dr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti April 14 Friday
7 Maharashtra Day May 01 Monday
8 Id-ul-adha (Bakri Id) June 28 Wednesday
9 Independence Day August 15 Tuesday
10 Ganesh Chaturthi September 19 Tuesday
11 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti October 02 Monday
12 Dasara October 24 Tuesday
13 Diwali Balipratipada November 14 Tuesday
14 Gurunanak Jayanti November 27 Monday
15 Christmas December 25 Monday

Trading Holidays on Saturday/Sunday

Sr.No National Holiday  Date 2023 Day
1 Mahashivratri February 18 Saturday
2 Id-ul-fitr (Ramzan Id) April 21 Saturday
3 Muharram July 29 Saturday
4 Diwali-Laxmi Pujan *  November 12 Sunday

*Muhurat Trading will take place on Diwali, Laxmi Pujan, November 14, 2023.

Timings for Muhurat Trading will be communicated by the exchange in the future.

BSE Trading Schedule

 

Pre-open Timings to Trade Equities

The pre-open session occurs between 9:00 and 9:15 am, or for a total of 15 minutes. The pre-open session consists of both the order collection and matching phases.

Regular Trading Timings to Trade Equities

The normal trading hours are from 9:15 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. The duration of the daily trading session is 6 hours and 15 minutes. There is no lunch break on the BSE, and neither pre-market nor after-hours trading is allowed. 

Block Deal Session Timings

Block deal windows are accessible throughout each and every trading day in the equity segment.

● Morning Session: Between 8:45 and 9:00 a.m., the first session of the block deal window takes place.  
● Afternoon Session: Between 2:05 and 2:20 p.m., the second session of the block deal window takes place.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

No, BSE is closed on the weekends, i.e., Saturdays and Sundays. 

Which month of the year 2023 has the maximum BSE trading holidays? 
In the year 2023, April & November have maximum trading holidays. 
 

The pre-open timings for BSE are from 9:00 am to 9:15 am.