MCX Holidays 2023 

In 2003, NCDEX and MCX were established and became active commodity exchanges. Until 2016, both the NCDEX and the MCX were governed by the Forward Markets Commission (FMC). In the 2016 Union Budget, the government decided to integrate them into SEBI. Since then, SEBI has controlled the two major commodities exchanges.
 

Sr.No National Holiday  Date 2023 Day Morning Session Evening Session*
1 Republic Day January 26 Thursday Closed Closed
2 Holi March 07 Tuesday Closed Open
3 Ram Navami March 30 Thursday Closed Closed
4 Mahavir Jayanti April 04 Tuesday Closed Open
5 Good Friday April 07 Friday Closed Closed
6 Dr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti April 14 Friday Closed Closed
7 Maharashtra Day May 01 Monday Closed Open
8 Bakri Id June 28 Wednesday Closed Open
9 Independence Day August 15 Tuesday Closed Closed
10 Ganesh Chaturthi September 19 Tuesday Closed Open
11 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti October 02 Monday Closed Closed
12 Dussehra October 24 Tuesday Closed Open
13 Diwali-Balipratipada November 14 Tuesday Closed Open
14 Gurunanak Jayanti November 27 Monday Closed Open
15 Christmas December 25 Monday Closed Closed

Morning session: 10 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Evening session - 5:00 p.m. to 11:30 p.m./11:55 p.m.

*5:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m./9:30 p.m. for Agricultural Products with International Connections

**Times for Muhurat trading will be communicated by the exchange in the future.
 

About Multi-commodity Exchange of India (MCX/NCDEX)

When it comes to the trading of commodities in India, MCX MCX, or Multi Commodity Exchange and NCDEX, or National Commodity & Derivative Exchange Limited, are two of the most well-known names in commodity trading. Both of these function in a way that is similar to that of stock exchanges; however, the primary distinction between the two is that they trade in commodities rather than shares and equity indexes.
 

Products of MCX/NCDEX

MCX is more well-known for its trading in metals and energy items, whilst the NCDEX focuses more on agricultural commodities as its primary area of expertise. Some of the notable products are mentioned in the table. 

MCX  NCDEX 
40 products such as metals, gold, silver, and bullion, among others. 34 agricultural products, such as grains, oils, oilseeds, etc.

MCX/NCDEX Trading Schedule 

Every day of the week, from Monday through Friday, investors in the exchange's Commodity Derivatives market engage in trading activities. This excludes Saturdays and Sundays as well as holidays announced by the Exchange in advance and communicated to exchange members. The timings of the commodities derivatives market sector are as follows:

 

Frequently Asked Questions

In the year 2023, April & November have maximum MCX/NCDEX  trading holidays. 

In the year 2023, April & November have maximum MCX/NCDEX  trading holidays. 
 

No. The last holiday for the MCX/NCDEX  in 2023 will occur on Monday, December 25, which is Christmas Day.